Press Release Appointments to Occupational Retirement Schemes Appeal Board Friday, September 30, 2016

The Government announced in the Gazette today (September 30) appointments to the Occupational Retirement Schemes Appeal Board (ORSAB).

The Financial Secretary, in exercise of the authority under the Occupational Retirement Schemes Ordinance (Cap 426) (ORSO) delegated to him by the Chief Executive, has re-appointed Ms Cynthia Chung Wing-suet and Ms Giovanna Kwong Fung-ping as Chairlady and Deputy Chairlady of the ORSAB respectively.

At the same time, the Financial Secretary has also appointed Mr Kenny Chan Ngai-sang and re-appointed Ms Ivy Cheung Wing-han and Ms Miranda So Man-wah as members of the ORSAB.

The above appointments and re-appointments will take effect from October 1, 2016, for a period of two years until September 30, 2018, both dates inclusive.

Welcoming the appointments and re-appointments, the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, Professor K C Chan, said, "The ORSAB comprises members from different professional sectors with various areas of expertise and experience in the operation of the financial market. I am confident that the members will contribute to the effective operation of the Appeal Board and uphold its impartiality."

Professor Chan also paid tribute to Dr Stella Cho Lung Pui-lan and Ms Cecilia Lee Sau-wai, the two outgoing members of the ORSAB.

The ORSAB was established in accordance with Section 61 of the ORSO to determine appeals against decisions of the Registrar of Occupational Retirement Schemes as specified in the ORSO.

The membership of the ORSAB with effect from October 1, 2016, is as follows:

Chairlady

Ms Cynthia Chung Wing-suet

Deputy Chairlady

Ms Giovanna Kwong Fung-ping

Members

Mr Kenny Chan Ngai-sang Ms Ivy Cheung Wing-han Ms Miranda So Man-wah

Ends