Press Release

Tax agreements between Hong Kong and six Nordic jurisdictions in force Wednesday, March 2, 2016

Agreements between Hong Kong and six Nordic jurisdictions (namely, Denmark, the Faroes, Iceland, Norway, Sweden and Greenland) for the exchange of information relating to tax matters have entered into force, a government spokesman said today (March 2).

The agreements were signed in August 2014. They came into force on the following respective dates, after the completion of ratification procedures in Hong Kong and the Nordic jurisdictions concerned.

Date of entry into force

Agreements with Denmark,

the Faroes, Iceland and

Norway

Agreement with Sweden

Agreement with Greenland

December 4, 2015

January 16, 2016 February 17, 2016

The agreements shall have effect for the taxable periods beginning on or after the respective dates on which the agreements entered into force, or, where there is no taxable period, for all charges to tax arising on or after the respective dates on which the agreements entered into force.

Ends